These pages are not displaying properly because the Compatibility View in your Internet Explorer is enabled. We suggest that you remove 'fu-berlin.de' from your list of sites that have Compatibility View enabled.

  1. In Internet Explorer, press the 'Alt' key to display the Menu bar, or press and hold the address bar and select 'Menu bar'.
  2. Click 'Tools' and select 'Compatibility View settings'.
  3. Select 'fu-berlin.de' under 'Websites you've added to Compatibility View'.
  4. Click 'Remove'.

Welcome address from the student representatives

Greetings from Students

Welcome to the Freie Universität Berlin!

On behalf of all students, you are warmly welcomed here by David (in English) and Jasmin (in German). They are excited to see new faces on campus and can’t wait to meet you and share their freshmen experiences with you. They will make sure to provide valuable tips for your learning and leisure activities, as well as tell you about their favorite spots for studying and meeting new people.

Jasmin and David are two of the „FU-Ambassadors “, who are currently studying at the Freie Universität Berlin. Through their posts on the FU Website and social media, you will get a glimpse into the everyday student life as it is.

Free University of Berlin Ambassador Program • Academic Advising and Psychological Counseling• Free University of Berlin (fu-berlin.de)

 

The FU Student Initiatives and Organizations

The classrooms and university cafeterias are not the only opportunities to connect with other students. There is a variety of student initiative groups that are involved in the university politics, form working/study groups, organize discussions and talks. Often, they also offer sports events, parties, and weekend getaways. At the beginning of the semester these groups usually introduce themselves at orientation days events, where they inform students about where to look for more information and support during your study experience. You are very welcome to learn more about these initiatives and become part of them.

At the bottom of the page you will find some examples of the FU student organizations and initiative groups. You can find a lot more information on the web, in particular when you go directly to the website of a specific faculty or institute.

Student Initiatives https://astafu.de/en/fsi

The Student Initiatives represent the interests of students belonging to a particular department or institute. They are free student associations open to everyone interested in participation. The Student Initiatives advocate for specialty communities (meaning all students of one faculty or institute). On top of that, they serve as a point of contact for students at the institute/faculty, offer events and help organize the orientation days for first-year students.

 

AStA FU – General Students’ Committee FU Berlin Start | AStA FU Berlin

The General Students’ Committee (AStA FU) is elected by the Student Parliament and is the central body of the student administration at the FU. The committee is made up of several administrative units, each with their own area of responsibility. Some typical tasks include helping students form an informed opinion and take a stance on university or science issues, promoting political awareness, and taking care of various student concerns. The AStA has the right to speak and propose action in all university committees, such as the Academic Senate (www.fu-berlin.de/en/einrichtungen/organe/gremien-kommissionen/senat/index.html). They keep in contact with the Student Initiatives (see above) and the Students’ Coordination Committee (which organizes communication between students and university administrative units). In addition, the AStA runs the semester ticket office (www.fu-berlin.de/en/einrichtungen/service/studierende/semtix/index.html ) and offers a number of free (legal) consultations such as BAföG counseling, counseling for women, BIPoC students and international students, LGBTQI+- peer support, social counseling, etc.

Student initiative groups can apply for financial support at the AStA. Here you can also print out a document, make a copy or even book the AStA bus.

 

The FU Student Initiative Groups and Networks (examples)

Fu-logo-text-2x
de | en
Drucken

START: Der Online-Studieneinstiegs-Assistent

Diese Seiten können nicht richtig dargestellt werden, da Sie Ihren Internet Explorer mit aktivierter Kompatibiltätsansicht verwenden. Wir empfehlen 'fu-berlin.de' aus der Liste der Websites mit aktivierter Kompatibilitätsansicht zu entfernen:

  1. Blenden Sie bitte in Ihrem Internet Explorer die Menüleiste ein, indem Sie entweder 'Alt' drücken oder in der Adressleiste mit der rechten Maustaste klicken und dann 'Menüleiste' auswählen.
  2. Klicken Sie auf 'Extras' und wählen das Menü 'Einstellungen der Kompatibilitätsansicht' aus.
  3. Wählen Sie unter 'Zur Kompatibilitätsansicht hinzugefügte Websites' 'fu-berlin.de' aus.
  4. Klicken Sie auf 'Entfernen'.

Grußwort von Studierenden

Herzlich willkommen an der Freien Universität Berlin!

Im Namen der Studierenden begrüßen Euch hier ganz herzlich Jasmin (in deutscher Sprache) und David (auf Englisch). Sie freuen sich auf Euch, auf neue Gesichter auf dem Campus und berichten von ihrem eigenen Studienanfang. Sie geben wertvolle Tipps für Studium und Freizeitgestaltung und verraten ihre Lieblingsorte zum Lernen und Kennenlernen.

Jasmin und David gehören zu den „FU-Botschafter*innen“, die an der Freien Universität studieren und euch mit ihren Beiträgen auf den FU-Sites und auf Social Media an ihrem Studienalltag teilhaben lassen.

Botschafter*innen-Programm der Freien Universität Berlin • Studienberatung und Psychologische Beratung • Freie Universität Berlin (fu-berlin.de)

 

Studentische Organisationen und Initiativen an der FU

Kontakt zu anderen Studierenden findet Ihr nicht nur in den Lehrveranstaltungen oder in der Mensa, sondern auch im Rahmen vielfältiger studentischer Gruppen, die sich hochschulpolitisch engagieren, Arbeitskreise bilden und fachliche Diskussionsrunden und Vorträge organisieren. Außerdem bieten sie oft auch Sportevents, Partys und Wochenendausflüge. Zu Beginn des Semesters sind studentische Initiativen oft an den Orientierungstagen beteiligt, die Euch informieren und Austauschmöglichkeiten und Unterstützung im Studium bieten. Ihr seid herzlich eingeladen diese Initiativen kennen zu lernen, euch zu informieren und dort zu engagieren.

Im Folgenden stellen wir Euch nur stellvertretend ein paar Beispiele für studentische Organisationen und Initiativen an der FU vor. Im Netz, vor allem auf den Seiten der Fachbereiche, entdeckt Ihr noch viel mehr.

 

Fachschaftsinitiativen https://astafu.de/fsi

Die Fachschaftsinitiativen sind Interessenvertretungen der Studierenden eines Faches oder Instituts, freie Zusammenschlüsse von Studierenden, an denen sich alle Interessierten beteiligen können. Die Fachschaftsinitiativen setzen sich für die Fachschaft (alle Studierenden eines Instituts) in den Gremien am Fachbereich ein. Außerdem sind sie eine Anlaufstelle für Studierende am Institut, bieten Veranstaltungen an und sind oft an den Orientierungstagen für die Erstsemester beteiligt.

 

AStA FU - Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss der FU Berlin Start | AStA FU Berlin

Der vom Studierendenparlament gewählte AStA ist das Kernstück der studentischen Verwaltung an der FU und umfasst mehrere Referate mit eigenen Arbeitsbereichen. Aufgaben sind z.B. die Meinungsbildung in der Gruppe der Studierenden zu ermöglichen, zu hochschul- oder wissenschaftspolitischen Fragen Stellung zu nehmen, die politische Bildung zu fördern sowie Belange der Studierenden wahrzunehmen. Der AStA hat in allen universitären Gremien, wie z.B. dem Akademischen Senat (www.fu-berlin.de/einrichtungen/organe/gremien-kommissionen/senat/index.html), Rede- und Antragsrecht und hält den Kontakt zu den Fachschaftsinitiativen (s.o.) und zur Fachschaftskoordination (die die Kommunikation zwischen den Studierenden unterschiedlicher Fachschaften und Bereiche der Hochschulpolitik gestaltet). Darüber hinaus betreib der AStA das Semesterticketbüro (www.fu-berlin.de/einrichtungen/service/studierende/semtix/index.html) und bietet eine Reihe kostenloser (Rechts-)Beratungen wie z.B. BAföG-Beratung, Beratung für Frauen, BIPoC Studierende und Internationale Studierende, LGBTQI+- Peer-Support, Sozialberatung u.a.

Studentische Initiativen können bei der AStA finanzielle Unterstützung beantragen. Außerdem gibt es dort die Möglichkeit zu drucken, zu kopieren und den AStA-Bus auszuleihen.

 

Fachschaftsinitiativen und studentische Netzwerke an der FU (Beispiele):