These pages are not displaying properly because the Compatibility View in your Internet Explorer is enabled. We suggest that you remove 'fu-berlin.de' from your list of sites that have Compatibility View enabled.

  1. In Internet Explorer, press the 'Alt' key to display the Menu bar, or press and hold the address bar and select 'Menu bar'.
  2. Click 'Tools' and select 'Compatibility View settings'.
  3. Select 'fu-berlin.de' under 'Websites you've added to Compatibility View'.
  4. Click 'Remove'.

Things to consider when choosing a study program

What pops up in your mind when you think about the following things: Studying, university life, your future career? Think about your preferences and hobbies, your dreams, and your attitude towards yourself and the world. What is particularly important to you and what are things you could live without?

Down below is a list of things to consider when choosing your study program that can serve as a starting point.

It makes sense to follow your interests when choosing your study program. If you learn something you’re truly interested in and excited about, you will be able to focus longer and work hard for it while actually enjoying what you’re doing. An interest test might help you get some clarity about what your passions are.

The right motivation focuses your attention on accomplishing your goals, gives you energy and the necessary endurance to keep going. You’ll enjoy what you’re doing and in case of success, you’ll be rewarded with the feeling of having achieved something through your own hard work. Therefore, it is recommended to think about your motivation when choosing your field of study.

Organization skills, resilience, creativity, discipline and endurance are, generally speaking, character traits that will help you at university. You can figure out which disciplines might be more or less suitable for you by looking at your favorite subjects in school: If you like maths more than languages and literature, pursuing a degree in the natural sciences rather than the humanities will probably be a good choice for you.

To choose the study program that suits you best, you should think about your skills and talents. Take a look at your school grades over the years – your average grades in a subject can predict how well you might fare at university studying that subject. If your skills and talents converge with your passions and interests, your chosen field of study will likely be a good one for you!

Your success at university and in your future job is linked to your general intelligence, which includes your faculty of thought, analytical skills, mental ability to solve new tasks and recognize meaningful connections, creativity, and ability to concentrate.

Generally, positive manifestations of the so-called Big Five personality traits (extraversion, emotional stability, agreeableness, conscientiousness, openness) are beneficial for your success and satisfaction at university. How would you characterize yourself? Which factors are important for achieving success in your chosen study program and your future career?

Values guide how people live their lives and influence their decisions. Which of the following values do you prioritize: Personal autonomy, family and relationships, personal success, creativity, social commitment, a comfortable life, success? Can they be realized with your chosen study program?

To choose the right study program, you should think about what you want to achieve with your degree. Do you want to become independent, follow your interests and motivations, have success and earn a high income, enjoy life, help others, be creative, or change the world?

When choosing a study program and university, it might be easy to base your decision on what your family members and friends are already doing or what they’re telling you to do, but you will be happier and more successful when you follow your own interests and inclinations.

To avoid disappointment, you should define your expectations and start gathering information about studying in general, your desired study program, your chosen university and its location early on. 

Predictions of the labor market are not reliable enough to base your choice of study on. Moreover, since the economy will continue to go through short-lived cycles, even the best degree will not be enough to serve as a guarantee for continued employment throughout your whole life; lifelong learning will be a part of your career.

If possible, don’t choose a university just because it’s close to home! Base your decision on the study programs it offers, the university and study program’s reputation, the number of professorships, and the faculty’s learning environment and culture.

If you have a concrete profession in mind, only certain study programs might be suitable for you. If you want to become a lawyer, you have to obtain a law degree. You cannot become a pharmacist without studying pharmacy. And you can only become a physician by pursuing a medical degree. However, many other degree programs, especially those with a combination of subjects, are not directly linked to a certain career path. Some professions, such as journalists, can be taken up with a degree in a variety of disciplines.

Fu-logo-text-2x
de | en
Drucken

Fächerübergreifender Online-Studienfachwahl-Assistent

Diese Seiten können nicht richtig dargestellt werden, da Sie Ihren Internet Explorer mit aktivierter Kompatibiltätsansicht verwenden. Wir empfehlen 'fu-berlin.de' aus der Liste der Websites mit aktivierter Kompatibilitätsansicht zu entfernen:

  1. Blenden Sie bitte in Ihrem Internet Explorer die Menüleiste ein, indem Sie entweder 'Alt' drücken oder in der Adressleiste mit der rechten Maustaste klicken und dann 'Menüleiste' auswählen.
  2. Klicken Sie auf 'Extras' und wählen das Menü 'Einstellungen der Kompatibilitätsansicht' aus.
  3. Wählen Sie unter 'Zur Kompatibilitätsansicht hinzugefügte Websites' 'fu-berlin.de' aus.
  4. Klicken Sie auf 'Entfernen'.

Faktoren bei der Studienfachwahl

Nehmen Sie sich die Zeit und stellen Sie sich Folgendes einmal vor: Studium, Studierendenleben, Beruf. Denken Sie an Ihre Vorlieben und Hobbys, Ihre Träume sowie Ihre Einstellungen zu sich selbst und der Welt. Was ist Ihnen besonders wichtig und worauf können Sie verzichten?

Im Folgenden sind einige Faktoren aufgelistet, die bei der Studienfachwahl eine Rolle spielen und Ihnen eine Orientierungshilfe sein können.

Es ist sehr sinnvoll, Ihre Interessen bei Ihrer Studienfachwahl in den Vordergrund zu rücken. Wenn Sie das lernen, wofür Sie sich wirklich interessieren, wofür Sie sich begeistern können, dann können Sie sich länger konzentrieren und strengen sich freiwillig und gern an. Ein Interessentest könnte Ihnen helfen, hier mehr Klarheit zu schaffen, wenn Sie nicht so recht wissen, wofür Sie sich interessieren.

Motivation fokussiert Ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf das angestrebte Ziel, wirkt kräftigend und gibt Ihnen die nötige Ausdauer. Handeln macht Spaß und beim Erfolg haben Sie ein gutes Gefühl, etwas aus eigener Kraft erreicht zu haben. Es ist also empfehlenswert, Ihre Motivation bei Ihrer Studienfachwahl zu berücksichtigen.

Organisationsfähigkeit, Belastbarkeit, Kreativität, Fleiß und Ausdauer sind im Allgemeinen einige hilfreiche Eignungskriterien für ein Studium. Ob Sie für eine bestimmte Fachrichtung mehr oder weniger geeignet sind, können Sie an Ihren Lieblingsfächern in der Schule sehen: wenn Sie Mathe mehr lieben als Sprache und Literatur, sind Sie wahrscheinlich eher für ein naturwissenschaftliches als ein geisteswissenschaftliches Studium geeignet.

Für eine gute Studienfachwahl und Erfolg im Studium sollten Sie Ihren Fähigkeiten und Begabungen nachgehen. Schauen Sie sich Ihre Schulnoten über Jahre an – die Notendurchschnitte haben hierzu eine hohe Vorhersagekraft. Wenn noch Interesse und entsprechende Begabung für das Fach hinzukommen, haben Sie gut gewählt!

Ihr Erfolg im Studium und Beruf hängt mit Ihrer allgemeinen Intelligenz zusammen. Damit sind Ihr Denkvermögen, Ihre Erfassungsgabe und Ihre geistigen Fähigkeiten beim Lösen von neuen Aufgaben, beim Erkennen von Sinnzusammenhängen gemeint. Kreativität und Konzentrationsfähigkeit gehören ebenso zu den Intelligenzleistungen.

Für Studienerfolg und Studienzufriedenheit allgemein sind positive Ausprägungen der sogenannten Big-Five-Persönlichkeitsmerkmale (Extraversion, emotionale Stabilität, Verträglichkeit, Gewissenhaftigkeit, Offenheit) von Vorteil. Wie schätzen Sie sich ein? Welche Faktoren sind für den Erfolg in Ihrem Wunschstudienfach und später im Beruf wichtig?

Werte sind Lebensorientierungen, die Entscheidungen beeinflussen. Welche folgenden Werte haben für Sie Priorität: persönliche Autonomie, Familie und Partnerschaft, persönlicher Erfolg, Kreativität, soziales Engagement, angenehmes Leben, Erfolg? Sind diese Werte in und mit Ihrem Wunschstudienfach zu verwirklichen?

Um eine gute Studienfachwahl zu treffen, sollten Sie sich überlegen, was Sie mit Ihrem Studium erreichen möchten. Wollen Sie unabhängig werden, Ihre Interessen, Neigungen, Motivation verwirklichen, Erfolg haben und gut verdienen, das Leben genießen, anderen helfen, kreativ sein, die Welt verändern?

Es mag leichter und angenehmer erscheinen, sich bei der Studienfachwahl an der Entscheidung von Freunden oder Familie zu orientieren. Sie werden aber zufriedener und erfolgreicher sein, wenn Sie sich nach Ihren eigenen Interessen und Fähigkeiten richten.

Damit Sie nicht enttäuscht werden, sollten Sie Ihre Erwartungen definieren und sich über das Studium im Allgemeinen, über Ihr Wunschstudienfach, Hochschule und Studienort ausführlich und rechtzeitig informieren.

Arbeitsmarktprognosen sind nicht zuverlässig, um Ihre Studienwahl danach zu treffen. Außerdem wird heute in immer schnelleren Entwicklungszyklen der Volkswirtschaft auch die beste Ausbildung nicht für ein ganzes Berufsleben reichen, das lebenslange Lernen steht an.

Wenn es geht, lassen Sie sich nicht von den Vorteilen der Nähe zum Wohnort verführen! Orientieren Sie sich lieber am fachlichen Angebot, am Ruf der Hochschule und des Studienfachs, der Anzahl der Professuren, an der Fachkultur.